PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Linwood R. Haith, MD, *President* James B. McClurken, MD, *President-Elect* William C. Meyers, MD, *Vice-President* Robert D. Fry, MD, *Treasurer* Robert S. Rhodes, MD, *Recorder* John Kairys, MD, *Program Chair* John L. Rombeau, *Past-President* Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, *Councilor-at-Large* Marshall Z. Schwartz, MD, *Councilor-at-Large* John R. Clarke, MD, *Parliamentarian/Historian* James B. Alexander, MD, Secretary c/o Department of Surgery Robert Wood Johnson Medical School – UMDNJ Three Cooper Plaza, #411 Camden, New Jersey 08103

> Phone: 856/342-2151 Fax: 856/342-7606 Email: jim.alexander@umdnj.edu

STATED MEETING MINUTES January 16, 2006

Dr. John L. Rombeau presided.

Dr. Rombeau asked the Secretary, Dr. Alexander, to introduce the new fellows. Dr. Kris Kaulback was presented by Dr. Pauline Park. Dr. Anthony Coletta and Dr. Monica Morrow were presented by Dr. Thomas Frazier. Dr. Kaulback, Dr. Coletta, and Dr. Morrow signed the Book.

Dr. Rombeau introduced Dr. Clyde Barker who presented a memoriam for Dr. Thomas Langfitt. Dr. Rombeau then asked the Program Chair, Dr. Amy Goldberg, to introduce the Erb Lecturer, Dr. Charles J. Yeo. Dr. Yeo presented the Erb Lecture entitled, "Can We Improve Outcomes for Pancreatic Cancer". Dr. Yeo's talk was well received by the Academy. A brief discussion period followed.

A business meeting was convened following Dr. Yeo's presentation. The slate for Council was again presented by the Nominations Committee: Linwood Haith, M.D., President; James McClurken, M.D., President-Elect; William Meyers, M.D., Vice-President; James Alexander, M.D., Secretary; Robert Fry, M.D., Treasurer; Robert Rhodes, M.D., Recorder; John Kairys, M.D., Program Chair; Christopher Pezzi, M.D., Councilor-At-Large; Marshall Schwartz, M.D., Councilor-At-Large, John Rombeau, M.D., Past President. There being no further nominations, the slate was approved by acclimation.

Read for the first time were the applications of Dr. Thomas L. Bauer, Dr. Andres E. Castellanos, and Dr. David E. Stein. Dr. Bauer is proposed by Dr. Thomas Frazier and supported by Dr. Nicholas Petrelli and Dr. David Rose. Dr. Castellanos is proposed by Dr. John Clarke and supported by Dr. William Meyers and Dr. Ari Brooks. Dr. Stein is proposed by Dr. John Clarke and supported by Dr. William Meyers and Dr. Ari Brooks.

Read for the second time were the applications of Dr. Vincente H. Gracias and Dr. Najjia N. Mahmoud. Dr. Gracias' application and Dr. Mahmoud's application were then voted upon by the fellows present. Both Dr. Gracias and Dr. Mahmoud were elected to the Academy.

Respectfully submitted,

James B. Alexander, M.D. Secretary