PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

James B. McClurken, M.D., President
William C. Meyers, MD, President-Elect
James B. Alexander, MD, Vice-President
Robert D. Fry, M.D., Treasurer
Robert S. Rhodes, MD, Recorder
John Kairys, MD, Program Chair
Linwood R. Haith, MD, Past-President
Jonathan Rhoads, Jr., MD, Councilor-at-Large
Marshall Schwartz, MD, Councilor-at-Large
John R. Clarke, MD, Parliamentarian

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, FACS, Secretary
Department of Surgery
Abington Memorial Hospital
1245 Highland Avenue, Suite 604
Abington, PA 19001
Phone: 215-481-7460
Fax: 215-4812159

Email: cpezzi@amh.org www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES December 3, 2007

President, Dr. James B. McClurken, presided.

An Intra-City/Regional Grand Rounds was held prior to the dinner buffet. Three interesting cases were presented to the members by residents from Temple University, Lankenau Hospital, and Drexel University. Two new fellows were introduced by Dr. McClurken. Dr. Amit Mitra and Dr. Hiroomi Tada were presented by Dr. McClurken and signed the Book.

The Philadelphia Academy of Surgery and the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, in co-sponsorship, presented the speaker for the evening, Anthony Atala, MD. Dr. Atala is the W.H. Boyce Professor and Director, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine and Chair, Department of Urology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine. Welcoming remarks were made by George M. Wohlreich, MD, Director and Chief Executive Officer, and Thomas W. Langfitt Chair, the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Dr. McClurken then introduced Dr. Atala. Dr. Atala's presentation was titled "Regenerative Medicine: New Approaches in Health Care for the 21st Century." Questions, discussion, and closing remarks followed the presentation.

A brief business meeting of the Philadelphia Academy of Surgery was convened by Dr. McClurken following the presentation. The Secretary, Dr. Christopher Pezzi, then read for the first time three proposals for fellowship in the Academy: Dr. David Maron, Dr. Rajeev Prasad, and Dr. L Grier Arthur III. Dr. Maron is proposed by Dr. Robert Fry, and is seconded by Dr. Jo Buyske and Dr. Najjia N. Mahmoud. Dr. Prasad is proposed by Dr. Marshall Z. Schwartz, and is seconded by Dr. Ernest L. Rosato and Dr. John C. Kairys. Dr. Arthur is proposed by Dr. M. Schwartz, and is seconded by Drs. E. Rosato and Kairys. Dr. Pezzi then read for the second time four proposals for fellowship: Dr. Aaron Bleznak, Dr. John Castronuovo, Dr. Brian Kann, and Dr. Daniel Lozano. Dr. Bleznak is proposed by Dr. Thomas Whalen, and is seconded by Dr. Michael Badellino and Dr. Pezzi. Dr. Castronuovo is proposed by Dr. Jonathan E. Rhoads, and is seconded by Dr. Whalen and Dr. Richard Spence. Dr. Kann is proposed by Dr. Steven Ross, and seconded by Dr. James Alexander and Dr. Mark Pello. Dr. Lozano is proposed by Dr. Whalen, and seconded by Dr. Badellino and Dr. Pezzi. These latter four proposals were then voted upon by the fellows present. Dr. Bleznak, Dr. Castronuovo, Dr. Kann and Dr. Lozano were elected to the Academy.

The next meeting of the Academy will occur on February 4, 2008, and will include the Annual Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Resident Paper Competition. The deadline for the submission of abstracts for the Residents' competition is December 30, 2007.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D. Secretary