## PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

James B. McClurken, M.D., *President* William C. Meyers, MD, President-*Elect* James B. Alexander, MD, *Vice-President* Robert D. Fry, M.D., *Treasurer* Robert S. Rhodes, MD, *Recorder* John Kairys, MD, *Program Chair* Linwood R. Haith, MD, *Past-President* Jonathan Rhoads, Jr., MD, *Councilor-at-Large* Marshall Schwartz, MD, *Councilor-at-Large* John R. Clarke, MD, *Parliamentarian*  Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, FACS, Secretary Department of Surgery Abington Memorial Hospital 1245 Highland Avenue, Suite 604 Abington, PA 19001 Phone: 215-481-7460 Fax: 215-4812159 Email: cpezzi@amh.org www.academyofsurgery.org

## STATED MEETING MINUTES November 5, 2007

President, Dr. James B. McClurken, presided.

An Intra-City/Regional Grand Rounds was held prior to dinner. Three interesting cases were presented to the members by residents from Drexel University, Thomas Jefferson University, and Abington Memorial Hospital.

One resident or fellow from each surgical program in the region was invited to attend dinner and the Rhoads Oration as a guest of the Academy, financed by the Rhoads Fund.

Dr. Robert Boova presented a memoriam for Dr. John Y. Templeton, III. Dr. Templeton served as President of the Philadelphia Academy of Surgery in 1974. There was a moment of silence for Dr. Templeton.

The Rhoads Annual Oration was delivered by Dr. John R. Clarke, and was titled "Leading Ourselves Out of the Chaos of the Current Healthcare Crisis." Informal discussion followed.

A brief business meeting was convened by Dr. McClurken following the presentation. The Secretary, Dr. Christopher Pezzi, then read for the <u>first</u> time four proposals for fellowship in the Academy. Dr. Aaron Bleznak is proposed by Dr. Thomas Whalen, and is seconded by Dr. Michael Badellino and Dr. Pezzi. Dr. John Castronuovo is proposed by Dr. Jonathan E. Rhoads, and is seconded by Dr. Thomas Whalen and Dr. Richard Spence. Dr. Brian Kann is proposed by Dr. Steven Ross, and seconded by Dr. James Alexander and Dr. Mark Pello. Dr. Daniel Lozano is proposed by Dr. Thomas Whalen, and seconded by Dr. Michael Badellino and Dr. Pezzi. Dr. Pezzi then read for the <u>second</u> time four proposals for fellowship. Dr. David Clements is proposed by Dr. McClurken, and seconded by Dr. Amy Goldberg and Dr. Alexander. Drs. Hiroomi Tada and Amit Mitra are proposed by Dr. McClurken and seconded by Dr. Amy Goldberg and Dr. Dan Dempsey. Dr Joel Cooper is proposed by Dr. Larry Kaiser and seconded by Dr. Rhoads and Dr. Robert Fry. These latter four proposals were then voted upon by the fellows present. Dr. Clements, Dr. Tada, Dr. Mitra and Dr. Cooper were elected to the Academy.

The next meeting of the Academy will occur on December 3, 2007 (a conjoint meeting with the Philadelphia College of Physicians). Anthony Atala, MD will present "Regenerative Medicine: New Approaches in Health Care for the 21<sup>st</sup> Century."

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D. Secretary