## STATED MEETING MINUTES February 5, 2007

Dr. James B. McClurken presided.

Dr. Herbert Cohn presented a memoriam for Dr. Francis E. Rosato. Dr. Rosato served as President of the Philadelphia Academy of Surgery in 1986. There was a moment of silence for Dr. Rosato.

Dr. McClurken asked Dr. Christopher Pezzi, Secretary, to introduce the speakers awarded prizes and selected for podium presentation for the Residents Paper Competition. Dr. Pezzi introduced Dr. Karin Cole who presented "Laparoscopic Surgery for Diverticulitis: Can We Treat Complicated Cases without Complications?", followed by Dr. Edward Y. Yoo who presented "Use of a Novel Therapeutic Agent in the Management of Inflammatory Bowel Disease", followed by Dr. Catherine Carruthers who presented "The Use of Ductal Lavage as a Screening Tool in Women at High Risk for Developing Breast Carcinoma." Each presentation was followed by questions, and the presenters were all congratulated for their work.

Additionally, entries to the Residents Paper Competition awarded prizes and selected for Poster Presentation were acknowledged, and included "Endothelial Cell Growth Media Induces Differentiation of Adipose-derived Stem Cells to an Endothelial Phenotype" by Dr. Nicholas A. Tarola, "Percutaneous Tracheostomy in the Pediatric Trauma Patient" by Dr. Ashish Raju, "Post-Operative Length of Stay Following Pyloromyotomy at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children" by Dr. Duane Duke, "Sphincter Preserving Radical Proctosigmoidectomy with Coloanal Anastamosis for Neoadjuvant Treated Cancers within 1cm of the Anorectal Ring" by Dr. D.H. Hunt, and "MammoSite<sup>TM</sup> Breast Brachytherapy: Reduced Catheter-Related Infections Comparing ASBS Registry Trial versus our Single Center Study – A Case for Perioperative Antibiotic Use" by Dr. Lori Chapleski.

All of the scientific work was well received, each author received their award, and a photo of the group was taken with Dr. McClurken for the web site.

Dr. McClurken then convened a brief business meeting.

The Secretary, Dr. Pezzi, then read for the second time five proposals for fellowship in the Academy. Dr. Charles Yeo is proposed by Dr. Herbert Cohn. Dr. Yeo is seconded by Dr. John Kairys and Dr. Ernest Rosato. Dr. Joseph Curci is proposed by Dr. McClurken. Dr. Curci is seconded by Dr. Francis Ferdinand and Dr. Pezzi. Dr. Abhijit Pathak is proposed by Dr. Amy Goldberg. Dr. Pathak is seconded by Dr. McClurken and Dr. Thomas Santora. Dr. Diane Opatt is proposed by Dr. John Kukora. Dr. Opatt is seconded by Monica Morrow and Dr. Pezzi. Dr. Robert Noone is proposed by Dr. Robert Fry. Dr. Noone is seconded by Dr. Najjia Mahmoud and Dr. Howard Ross. All five applications were later voted upon by the fellows present. Dr. Yeo, Dr. Curci, Dr. Pathak, Dr. Opatt and Dr. Noone were elected to the Academy.

Proposed changes to the Constitution and By-Laws of the Philadelphia Academy of Surgery, having been read for the first time at the January 8, 2007 meeting, were then read for the 2<sup>nd</sup> time. Dr. Jonathan Rhoads, Jr. proposed an amendment to the new class of membership for Resident Members, stating that Resident Members would not be eligible to sign the "Historic Book". The amendment was voted upon and passed. The Proposed Changes to the Constitution and By-Laws were then voted upon and also passed. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D. Secretary