PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

James B. McClurken, M.D., President
William C. Meyers, MD, President-Elect
James B. Alexander, MD, Vice-President
Robert D. Fry, M.D., Treasurer
Robert S. Rhodes, MD, Recorder
John Kairys, MD, Program Chair
Linwood R. Haith, MD, Past-President
Jonathan Rhoads, Jr., MD, Councilor-at-Large
Marshall Schwartz, MD, Councilor-at-Large
John R. Clarke, MD, Parliamentarian

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, FACS, Secretary
Department of Surgery
Abington Memorial Hospital
1245 Highland Avenue, Suite 604
Abington, PA 19001
Phone: 215-481-7460
Fax: 215-4812159

Email: cpezzi@amh.org www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES February 4, 2008

President, Dr. James B. McClurken, presided.

Dr. McClurken asked the secretary, Dr. Christopher Pezzi, to introduce the new fellows of the Academy. Dr. Aaron Bleznak and Dr. Daniel Lozano were presented by Dr. Michael Badellino. Dr. Charles Yeo was presented by Dr. John Kairys. Dr. John Castronuovo was presented by Dr. Jonathan E. Rhoads. Dr. Brian Kann was presented by Dr. James Alexander. Dr. Bleznak, Dr. Lozano, Dr. Yeo, Dr. Castronuovo and Dr. Kann signed the Historic Book.

Dr. McClurken again read the proposed slate of officers from the Nominating Committee for 2008/2009 to the members present including President: William C. Meyers, MD, President-Elect: James Alexander, MD, Secretary: Christopher Pezzi, MD, Treasurer: Jonathan Rhoads, Jr, MD, Recorder: Sean Harbison, MD, Program Chair: John Kairys, MD, Past-President: James McClurken, MD, Councilors-at Large: Jo Buyske, MD, Amy Goldberg, MD, Charles Yeo, MD, Parlimentarian: John Clarke, MD. There being no further nominations, the slate was approved by acclimation.

Dr. McClurken introduced Dr. Dan Dempsey who presented a memoriam for Dr. John Card.

The program chair, Dr. Kairys, introduced the first three presenters chosen for the Annual Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Resident Paper Competition.

A brief business meeting was convened by Dr. McClurken following the presentations. The secretary, Dr. Pezzi, then read for the first time four proposals for fellowship in the Academy: Dr. Robert McCairns, Dr. Melvin Moses, Dr. Fernando Bonani, and Dr. Dennis Wang. Dr. McCairns and Dr. Moses are proposed by Dr. Linwood Haith, and are seconded by Dr. Anthony Coletta and Dr. Robert Boova. Dr. Bonani and Dr. Wang are proposed by Dr. John Kukora, and are seconded by Dr. Pezzi and Dr. Robert Josloff. Dr. Pezzi then read for the second time three proposals for fellowship: Dr. David Maron, Dr. Rajeev Prasad, and Dr. L Grier Arthur III. Dr. Maron is proposed by Dr. Robert Fry, and is seconded by Dr. Jo Buyske and Dr. Najjia N. Mahmoud. Dr. Prasad and Dr. Arthur are proposed by Dr. Marshall Z. Schwartz, and are seconded by Dr. Ernest L. Rosato and Dr. John C. Kairys. These latter three proposals were then voted upon by the fellows present. Dr. Maron, Dr. Prasad, and Dr. Arthur were elected to the Academy. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting of the Academy will occur on March 3, 2008, and will feature the conclusion of the Annual Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Resident Paper Competition.

Respectfully submitted,

Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D. Secretary