PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

John C. Kairys, MD, President-Elect
Thomas L. Bauer, II, MD, Vice-President
Richard H. Bell, Jr., MD, Secretary
Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD, Treasurer
David E. Stein, MD, Recorder
Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD, Scientific Program Officer
James B. Alexander, MD, Past President
Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD, Councilor-at-Large
Howard M. Snyder, III, MD, Councilor-at-Large
William C. Meyers, MD, Historian
John R. Clarke, MD, Executive Director
Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, *President* c/o Price Medical Office Building 1245 Highland Avenue, Suite 604 Abington, PA 19001 Phone: 215-481-7464 Fax: 215-481-2159 Email: chmario@comcast.net

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES September 27, 2010

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.

President Christopher Pezzi M.D., presided.

During the dinner, 10 guests were introduced. There were 25 Fellows of the Academy in attendance.

Scientific Program

Dr. Carpenter introduced the speaker, Dr. C. William Schwab of the University of Pennsylvania, who gave a presentation entitled "Firearm Injury in America: What Do We Know, What Can We Do?

Business Meeting

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the first time:

Ala Frey, M.D. (Abington Memorial)

Soo Kim, M.D. (Abington Memorial)

Sun Young Lee (Thomas Jefferson)

Michael L. Nussbaum (Abington Memorial)

Carlos B. Ramirez (Thomas Jefferson)

Masoud Rezvani (Lansdale Hospital)

Lars Sjoholm (Abingto Memorial)

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the second time and voted upon for Fellowship:

Joshua Eisenberg, M.D. (Thomas Jefferson)

Carrie Sims, M.D. (University of Pennsylvania)

Sidney John Swanson, M.D. (Christiana Medical Center)

All candidates voted upon were elected.

Dr. William Meyers provided information on an upcoming seminar at Drexel University Health Care Reform.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Minutes of the Meeting of the Fellows, 27September2010 Page 2

The next meeting of the Academy will take place on November 1 at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Dr. Anthony Atala of Wake Forest University, the Gross Prize recipient for 2010, will present a lecture entitled "Regenerative Medicine" featuring a description of his ground-breaking work on the development of bioartificial organs.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard H. Bell, MD

Secretary