PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

John C. Kairys, MD, President-Elect
Thomas L. Bauer, II, MD, Vice-President
Richard H. Bell, Jr., MD, Secretary
Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD, Treasurer
David E. Stein, MD, Recorder
Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD, Scientific Program Officer
James B. Alexander, MD, Past President
Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD, Councilor-at-Large
Howard M. Snyder, III, MD, Councilor-at-Large
William C. Meyers, MD, Historian
John R. Clarke, MD, Executive Director
Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, *President* c/o Price Medical Office Building 1245 Highland Avenue, Suite 604 Abington, PA 19001 Phone: 215-481-7464 Fax: 215-481-2159

Fax: 215-481-2159 Email: chmario@comcast.net

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES Monday, December 13, 2010

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. President Christopher Pezzi, MD, presided.

During the dinner, 19 guests were introduced. There were 45 fellows in attendance.

Business Meeting

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

Ala Stanford Frey, M.D.

Soo Y. Kim, M.D.

Sun Yong Lee, M.D

Michael L. Nussbaum, M.D.

Masoud Rezvani, M.D.

Lars Sjoholm, M.D.

President Pezzi announced that the scientific program for the next meeting on January 3, 2011 will be this year's Erb lecturer, Dr. Charles M. Balch of Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions.

Dr. Pezzi then reported that the nominating committee has chosen the following persons to be presented as a slate of candidates to the membership. The election of officers and council members will be held at the January 2011 meeting, with terms beginning in February 2011.

John Kairys, M.D. – President
Jeff Carpenter, M.D. – President Elect
Tom Bauer, M.D. – Vice President
Dahlia Sataloff, M.D. – Secretary
Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., M.D. – Treasurer
Babak Abai, M.D. – Recorder
Chris Tzarnas, M.D. – Scientific Program Officer
Chris Pezzi, M.D. – Past President
Jeffrey Drebin, M.D. – Councilor-at-Large
Howard M. Snyder, M.D. - Councilor-at Large

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Minutes of the Meeting of the Fellows, December 13, 2010 Page 2

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the first time:

R. Sean Benoit, M.D. Benjamin Youdelman, M.D. Mark Malangoni, M.D. Robert Jubelirer, M.D.

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the second time and voted upon for Fellowship:

Michael Baumholtz, M.D. Scott Cowan, M.D.

All candidates voted upon were elected.

Scientific Program

Dr. Pezzi introduced the speaker, Dr James McClurken, of Temple University, who gave a presentation entitled "Evolution of Cardiac Surgery in Philadelphia: From 'Firsts' to Care Improvements via Collaboration"

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard H. Bell, MD

Secretary