PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, *President*John C. Kairys, MD, President-*Elect*Thomas L. Bauer, II, MD, *Vice-President*Richard H. Bell, Jr., MD, *Secretary*Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD, *Treasurer*David E. Stein, MD, *Recorder*Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD, *Scientific Program Officer*James B. Alexander, MD, *Past President*Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD, *Councilor-at-Large*Howard M. Snyder, III, MD, *Councilor-at-Large*William C. Meyers, MD, *Historian*John R. Clarke, MD, *Executive Director*Melanie Toolan, *Executive Administrator*

Richard H. Bell, Jr., MD, Secretary c/o American Board of Surgery 1617 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 860 Philadelphia, PA 19103 Phone: 215-568-4000 Fax: 215- 563-5718 Email: rbell@absurgery.org

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES January 4, 2010

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.

President James Alexander, MD, presided.

During the dinner, 23 guests were introduced. There were 37 Fellows also in attendance.

Scientific Program

Dr. Alexander introduced the speaker, Dr. John Daly, Dean of the Temple University School of Medicine and Professor of Surgery, who gave a heart-felt presentation, entitled "Liver transplantation – a view of both sides."

Business Meeting

President Alexander announced that the scientific programs for the upcoming meetings are:

February 1 – The Erb Lecture

March 1 – Resident Research Competition

April 28 – Joint meeting with the New York Surgical Society – Dinner Speaker George Sheldon, M.D.

May 10 – Joint meeting with the Philadelphia Metro ACS Chapter – Speaker A. Brent Eastman, M.D.

Two new members of the Academy were introduced and signed the membership book:

Yun Sin Chun, M.D.

Shaheen J. Timmapuri, M.D.

Two new candidates were read for the first time:

Jeffrey Farma MD

David Reich MD

Dr. Alexander presented a slate of nominees for officers of the Academy for the 2010-2011 year.

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Minutes of the Meeting of the Fellows, January 4, 2010 Page 2

The proposed slate is as follows:

President Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D.
President Elect John C. Kairys, M.D.
Secretary Richard H. Bell, Jr. M.D.
Scientific Program Director Jeffrey P. Carpenter, M.D.
Secretary Richar H. Bell, Jr, M.D.
Treasurer Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD

Recorder David E. Stein, M.D.
Past-President James B. Alexander, M.D.
Councilor-at-Large Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Ph.D.,
Councilor-at-Large Howard M. Snyder, III, M.D.,

There being no nominations from the floor, the proposed slate was elected.

Dr. Alexander was thanked for his service by Dr. Pezzi.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting of the Academy will take place on February at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. The program will be the Erb Lecture, which will be given by Dr. Stephen Evans, Professor and Chair of Surgery at Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard H. Bell, Jr. MD

Just S.J.

Secretary