PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, *President*John C. Kairys, MD, President-*Elect*Thomas L. Bauer, II, MD, *Vice-President*Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD, *Treasurer*David E. Stein, MD, *Recorder*Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD, *Scientific Program Officer*James B. Alexander, MD, *Past President*Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD, *Councilor-at-Large*Howard M. Snyder, III, MD, *Councilor-at-Large*William C. Meyers, MD, *Historian*John R. Clarke, MD, *Executive Director*Melanie Toolan, *Executive Administrator*

Richard H. Bell, Jr., MD, Secretary c/o American Board of Surgery 1617 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 860 Philadelphia, PA 19103 Phone: 215-568-4000 Fax: 215- 563-5718 Email: rbell@absurgery.org

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES November 1, 2010

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.

President Christopher Pezzi, MD, presided.

During the dinner, 22 guests were introduced. There were 29 fellows in attendance.

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

Joshua Eisenberg, M.D. Charles Mulligan, M.D. Sidney John Swanson, M.D. Carrie A. Sims, M.D.

Scientific Program

Dr. Pezzi introduced the speaker, Dr Anthony Atala, of Wake Forest University, the winner of the 2010 Gross Scientific Prize, gave a presentation entitled "Regenerative Medicine."

Business Meeting

President Pezzi announced that the scientific program for the next meeting on December 13, 2010 will be the Rhoads oration delivered by Dr. James McClurken from Temple University.

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the first time:

Michael Baumholtz, M.D. Scott Cowan, M.D.

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the second time and voted upon for Fellowship:

Ala Frey, M.D. Soo Kim, M.D.

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Minutes of the Meeting of the Fellows, November 1, 2010

Sun Yong Lee, M.D. Michael Nussbaum, M.D. Carlo Ramirez, M.D. Masoud Rezvani, M.D. Lars Sjoholm, M.D.

All candidates voted upon were elected.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting of the Academy will take place on December 13 at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Dr. James McClurken of Temple University will present the 2010 Rhoads lecture.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard H. Bell, MD

Secretary