John C. Kairys, MD, President-Elect
Thomas L. Bauer, II, MD, Vice-President
Richard H. Bell, Jr., MD, Secretary
Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD, Treasurer
David E. Stein, MD, Recorder
Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD, Scientific Program Officer
James B. Alexander, MD, Past President
Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD, Councilor-at-Large
Howard M. Snyder, III, MD, Councilor-at-Large
William C. Meyers, MD, Historian
John R. Clarke, MD, Executive Director
Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator

Christopher M. Pezzi, MD, *President* c/o Price Medical Office Building 1245 Highland Avenue, Suite 604 Abington, PA 19001 Phone: 215-481-7464 Fax: 215-481-2159

Fax: 215-481-2159 Email: chmario@comcast.net

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

STATED MEETING MINUTES Monday, January 3, 2011

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. President Christopher Pezzi, MD, presided.

During the dinner, 14 guests were introduced. There were 25 fellows in attendance.

Introductions

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

Carlos Ramirez, M.D. Michael Baumholtz, M.D.

Scientific Program

Dr. Pezzi introduced the speaker, Dr Charles Balch, of Johns Hopkins Medicine, who gave a presentation entitled "Melanoma as a model of evidence-based medicine"

Business Meeting

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the first time:

Ian Soriano, M.D. Stephen Guy, M.D.

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the second time and voted upon for Fellowship:

Benjamin Youdelman, M.D. Mark Malangoni, M.D. Robert Jubelirer, M.D. Sean Benoit, M.D.

All candidates voted upon were elected.

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Minutes of the Meeting of the Fellows Monday, January 3, 2011 Page 2

The nominations from the Nominating Committee were proposed for Officers and Councilors for 2011. There were no nominations from the floor. The following nominees were elected:

John Kairys, M.D. – President
Jeff Carpenter, M.D. – President Elect
Tom Bauer, M.D. – Vice President
Dahlia Sataloff, M.D. – Secretary
Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., M.D. – Treasurer
Babak Abai, M.D. – Recorder
Chris Tzarnas, M.D. – Scientific Program Officer
Chris Pezzi, M.D. – Past President
Jeffrey Drebin, M.D. – Councilor-at-Large
Howard M. Snyder, M.D. - Councilor-at Large

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting of the Academy will be held on February 7, 2011 and will be the annual Resident Research Awards meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Just Soft

Richard H. Bell, MD

Secretary