John C. Kairys, MD, *President*Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD, MD, *President-Elect*Thomas L. Bauer, II, MD, *Vice-President*Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., MD, *Treasurer*Babak Abai, M.D, *Recorder*Chris Tzarnas, M.D., *Scientific Program Officer*Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D., *Past President*Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD, *Councilor-at-Large*Howard M. Snyder, III, MD, *Councilor-at-Large*James B. Alexander, MD, *Historian*John R. Clarke, MD, *Executive Director*Melanie Toolan, *Executive Administrator*

Dahlia Sataloff, M.D, Secretary 700 Spruce Street, Suite B03 Philadelphia, PA 19106 Phone: 215-829-8461

Fax: 215-829-8462 Email: dmsataloff@aol.com

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

STATED MEETING MINUTES Monday, November 7, 2011

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. President John C. Kairys, M.D., presided.

During the meeting, 55 guests were present. There were 39 Fellows in attendance and 16 guests.

Business Meeting

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the first time:

Paul Glat, M.D. Lawrence Scott Levin, M.D.

The following candidates for Fellowship were read for the second time:

Jeffrey Butcher, M.D.

Richard Ing, M.D.

Leonidas Koniaris, M.D.

Mauricio Garrido, M.D.

Stacey Milan, M.D.

Kristin Noonan, M.D.

Pankaj Patel, M.D.

Atul Rao, M.D.

Michael Weinstein, M.D.

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

Stephen Guy, M.D. Francis Spitz, M.D. Gary Xiao, M.D.

Scientific Program: "From Halsted to Libby Zion – What We Don't Teach in Residency"

Amy Goldberg, M.D. Professor of Surgery, Medical Director of the Trauma Program and Program Director of the General Surgery residency, Temple University School of Medicine.

The President announced that the next meeting of the Academy will be on December 12, 2011.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Dahlia M. Sataloff, M.D, Secretary