PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Jeffrey P. Carpenter, M.D., President Thomas L. Bauer, II, M.D., President-Elect Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Ph.D., Vice-President Jonathan E. Rhoads, Jr., M.D., Treasurer Babak Abai, M.D, Recorder Chris Tzarnas, M.D., Scientific Program Officer John C. Kairys, M.D., Past President Andres Castellanos, M.D., Councilor-at-Large Sun Yong Lee, M.D., Councilor-at-Large Christopher M. Pezzi, M.D., Historian John R. Clarke, M.D., Executive Director Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator Dahlia Sataloff, M.D, *Secretary* 700 Spruce Street, Suite B03 Philadelphia, PA 19106 Phone: 215-829-8461 Fax: 215-829-8462 Email: dmsataloff@aol.com

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES Monday, December 3, 2012

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Jeffrey P. Carpenter, M.D. presided.

There were 29 Fellows in attendance and 33 guests.

Welcoming remarks were made by Dr. Jeffrey Carpenter, M.D.

<u>Scientific Presentation</u>: The Rhoads Oration was given by Linton A. Whitaker, MD, Professor of Surgery (Plastic Surgery) Emeritus, Chief of Plastic Surgery Emeritus, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania on "*Terroir* and the Cultivation of Quality"

Business Meeting:

The following new member of the Academy was introduced:

• Robert Thayer Sataloff, M.D., D.M.A., F.A.C.S

The following candidate was read for the first time:

- Nicole Fox, M.D., MPH
- Mark Seamon, M.D., F.A.C.S.
- Joseph Serletti, M.D., F.A.C.S.
- Alliric I. Willis, M.D.

The following candidates were read for the second time and voted upon by the membership:

• Donald Roy Mackay, BDS, MBBCh, FRCS

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Stated Minutes: Monday, December 3, 2012 Page 2

The Nominating Committee of Drs. Alexander, Kairys and Pezzi proposes the following slate for election at the Annual Business Meeting in January:

President –Thomas L. Bauer, MD President-Elect–Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD Vice President-Chris Tzarnas, MD Secretary– Babak Abai, MD Treasurer-Dahlia M. Sataloff, MD Recorder–Sun Yong Lee, MD Scientific Program Chair–Andres Castellanos, MD Past President-Jeffrey P. Carpenter, MD Councilor-at-Large-Niels Martin, MD Councilor-at-Large-D. Scott Lind, MD Historian-John C. Kairys, MD

The next meeting of the Academy will be The Annual Rhoads Oration on Monday, January 7, 2013 at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Dana R. Sands, MD, Division of Colorectal Surgery, Cleveland Clinic, Florida will speak on "Enhancing and Improving Postoperative Recovery"

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Dahlia M. Sataloff, M.D.