PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Thomas L. Bauer, II, M.D., President
Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Ph.D., President-Elect
Chris Tzarnas, M.D., Vice-President
Dahlia Sataloff, M.D., Treasurer
Sun Yong Lee, M.D., Recorder
Andres Castellanos, M.D., Scientific Program Officer
Jeffrey P. Carpenter, M.D., Past President
D. Scott Lind, M.D., Councilor-at-Large
Niels D. Martin, M.D., Councilor-at-Large
John C. Kairys, M.D., Historian
John R. Clarke, M.D., Executive Director
Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator

Babak Abai, M.D, Secretary 111 S. 11th Street 6270 Gibbon Building Philadelphia, PA 19107 Phone: 215-955-4912 Fax: 215-923-0835

Email: babak.abai@jefferson.edu

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, JANUARY 6, 2014

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Thomas Bauer, M.D. presided.

There were 22 Fellows in attendance and 11 guests.

Welcoming remarks by Dr. Thomas Bauer, President

Scientific Presentation:

The talk was given by Dr. Omar Bholat

Lecture Topic: "Surgery During an Insurgency"

Business Meeting:

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

- Dr. Henry Pitt
- Dr. Dawn Salvatore
- Dr. Qiong "John" Yang

The following candidates were read for the second time voted on by the membership, and elected into Fellowship:

- Dr. Stephen A. Chidyllo
- Dr. Karen J. Kish
- Dr. Mark Solomon

The following candidate was read for the first time:

N/A

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery

Stated Minutes: Monday, January 6, 2014

Page 2

The Nominating Committee: Drs. Pezzi, Kairys and Carpenter proposed the following slate:

PRESIDENT: Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Ph.D. PRESIDENT-ELECT: Chris Tzarnas, M.D. VICE PRESIDENT: Dahlia Sataloff, M.D.

SECRETARY: Babak Abai, M.D. TREASURER: D. Scott Lind, M.D. RECORDER: Sun Yong Lee, M.D.

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM OFFICER: Andres Castellanos, M.D.

PAST PRESIDENT: Thomas L. Bauer, II, M.D. COUNCILOR-AT-LARGE: Niels D. Martin, M.D. COUNCILOR-AT-LARGE: Kenric Murayama, M.D.

Reminder for upcoming meetings:

Dr. Bauer was recognized for his leadership as president of the Academy.

The next meeting of the Academy will held on Monday, February 10, 2014 at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.

Respectfully submitted,

Babak Abai, MD