PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Ph.D., President
Chris Tzarnas, M.D., President-Elect
Dahlia Sataloff, M.D., Vice-President
D. Scott Lind, M.D., Treasurer
Sun Yong Lee, M.D., Recorder
Andres Castellanos, M.D., Scientific Program Officer
Thomas L. Bauer, II, M.D., Past President
Kenric Murayama, M.D., Councilor-at-Large
Niels D. Martin, M.D., Councilor-at-Large
Christopher Pezzi, M.D., Historian
John R. Clarke, M.D., Executive Director
Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator

Babak Abai, M.D, Secretary 111 S. 11th Street 6270 Gibbon Building Philadelphia, PA 19107 Phone: 215-955-4912

Fax: 215-923-0835 Email: babak.abai@jefferson.edu

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2014

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Jeffrey Drebin, M.D. presided.

There were 32 Fellows in attendance and 26 guests.

Welcoming remarks by Drs. Jeffrey Drebin, President and Andres Castellanos, Scientific Program Officer.

Scientific Presentation:

The Rhoads Oration was given by Dr. Douglas L. Fraker, Jonathan E. Rhoads Professor of Surgical Science, Vice Chairman of Research, and Chief of the Division of Endocrine and Oncologic Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania.

Topic: "Surgical Management of Adrenal Causes of Hypertension: Pheochromocytoma and Aldosteronoma"

Business Meeting:

The following candidate was read for the first time:

- Dr. Mohammad Farrukh Ali Khan
- Dr. Rachel Rapaport Kelz

The following candidates were read for the second time voted on by the membership, and elected into Fellowship:

Dr. Brendan O'Connell

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery

Stated Minutes: Monday, December 1, 2014

Page 2

Dr. Drebin presented the Nominating Committee's slate for positions to be elected at the January business meeting of the Academy:

PRESIDENT: Christopher Tzarnas
PRESIDENT-ELECT: Dahlia M. Sataloff
VICE PRESIDENT: D. Scott Lind

SECRETARY: Andres Castellanos

TREASURER:

RECORDER:

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM DIRECTOR:

PAST PRESIDENT:

COUNCILOR-AT-LARGE:

COUNCILOR-AT-LARGE:

Sun Yong Lee

Niels Martin

Jeffrey A. Drebin

Kenric Murayama

Francis Spitz

Reminder for upcoming meetings:

Dr. Drebin announced that Dr. Henry A. Pitt, Associate Vice-Dean for Clinical Affairs, Temple University School of Medicine will present on January 12th.

Respectfully submitted,

Babak Abai, MD