PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Dahlia Sataloff, M.D., President-Elect
D. Scott Lind, M.D., Vice-President
Babak Abai, M.D., Treasurer
Sun Yong Lee, M.D., Recorder
Niels Martin, M.D., Scientific Program Officer
Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Past President
Kenric Murayama, M.D., Councilor-at-Large
Francis Spitz, M.D., Councilor-at-Large
Thomas L. Bauer, II, M.D., Historian
John R. Clarke, M.D., Senior Director
Christopher Pezzi, M.D., Executive Director
Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator

Andres Castellanos, M.D, Secretary
Drexel Surgery
219 N. Broad Street
The Arnold T. Berman, MD Building, 8th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19105

Phone: 215-762-4890 Fax: 215-762-8389

Email: andres.castellanos@DrexelMed.edu

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

STATED MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, JANUARY 11, 2016

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Dahlia Sataloff, MD. presided.

There were 29 Fellows in attendance and 12 guests.

Welcoming remarks by Drs. Dahlia Sataloff, President-Elect and Niels Martin, Scientific Program Officer.

Scientific Presentation:

Dr. Linton Whitaker presented a memoir for Dr. Chris D. Tzarnas, Academy President.

Drs. L. Scott Levin, MD and Stephen J. Kovach, III, presented a joint talk on "VCA-Vascularized Composite Allotransplantation"

Business Meeting:

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

● n/a

The following candidate was read for the first time:

n/a

The following candidates were read for the second time voted on by the membership, and elected into Fellowship:

- William Carter
- Ben Chang
- Ivona Percec

Philadelphia Academy of Surgery Stated Minutes: Monday, January 11, 2016

Page 2

Jesse Taylor

<u>The Nominating Committee:</u> of Drs. Bauer, Kairys, and Carpenter proposed the following slate for election:

PRESIDENT: Dahlia M. Sataloff
PAST PRESIDENT COUNCILOR Linwood Haith
PRESIDENT-ELECT: Babak Abai

VICE PRESIDENT: Andres Castellanos

TREASURER:

SECRETARY:

RECORDER:

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM DIRECTOR:

COUNCILOR-AT-LARGE:

Ari Brooks

Niels Martin

Sun Yong Lee

Francis Spitz

Henry Pitt

COUNCILOR-AT-LARGE: Michael Weingarten

Reminder for upcoming meetings:

The next meeting of the Academy (Resident Research Competition) will be held on Monday, February 8, 2016. This meeting was noted as the 2nd Monday in February.

Respectfully submitted,

Melanie Toolan