# PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF SURGERY

Dahlia Sataloff, M.D., President Babak Abai, M.D., President Elect Andres Castellanos, M.D., Vice President Ari Brooks, M.D., Treasurer Sun Yong Lee, M.D., Recorder Francis Spitz, M.D., Scientific Program Officer Linwood Haith, M.D., Past President Councilor Henry Pitt, M.D., Councilor-at-Large Michael Weingarten, M.D., Councilor-at-Large John R. Clarke, M.D., Senior Director Christopher Pezzi, M.D., Executive Director Melanie Toolan, Executive Administrator Niels Martin, M.D, Secretary PO Box 17314 Philadelphia, PA 19105 Phone: 215-955-9604 Fax: 215-923-6609 Email: niels.martin@uphs.upenn.edu

http://www.academyofsurgery.org

### STATED MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2016

The meeting was held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Dahlia Sataloff, M.D. presided.

There were 17 Fellows in attendance and 15 guests.

**Welcoming remarks** by Drs. Dahlia Sataloff, President and Francis Spitz, Scientific Program Officer.

### **Scientific Presentation:**

Scott Mu from Thomas Jefferson University presented a case report.

Dr. Joseph Lombardi from Cooper University Hospital presented on ""New Advances in the Management of Type B Aortic Dissection"

#### **Business Meeting:**

The following new members of the Academy were introduced:

- Melissa Lazar, MD
- Nicole Saur, MD

The following candidate was read for the first time:

• Theodore Tsangaris, MD

The following candidates were read for the second time voted on by the membership, and elected into Fellowship:

- Orlando Kirton, MD
- Carla Fisher, MD

## Reminder for upcoming meetings:

The next meeting of the Academy will be held on Monday, December 12, 2016. Dr. Jeffrey Drebin will present the Rhoads Oration.

Respectfully submitted,

Niels Martin, MD Secretary, Philadelphia Academy of Surgery