Skip to main content

About Us

About The Philadelphia Academy of Surgery

The Philadelphia Academy of Surgery was founded in 1879 by Samuel D. Gross, M.D., the chair of surgery at Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia. The Philadelphia Academy of Surgery is the oldest continuously meeting surgical society in the United States. The Philadelphia Academy predates Gross' founding of the American Surgical Association, which is widely considered to be the nation's most prestigious surgical society.

As stated in its constitution, "The object of the Academy shall be the Cultivation and Improvement of the Science and Art of Surgery, the Elevation of the Medical Profession, the Promotion of the Public Health, and such other matters as may come legitimately within its sphere." Toward this end, the Academy of Surgery typically holds dinner meetings eight times each year; six meetings are usually held at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia (19 S. 22nd Street, Philadelphia) and the seventh is held jointly with the New York Surgical Society and the Boston Surgical Society   The final meeting of the year is held jointly with the Metropolitan Philadelphia Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. The dates and times of this year's meetings can be found on our Calendar of Events tab. Non-members may attend at the invitation of a member. Particularly significant events include the Rhoads Annual Oration, the Erb Lecture, and the Clarke Lectureship. The Academy also sponsors a yearly Surgical Trainee Paper Competition for the Chris Tzarnas Surgical Research Award and presents the prestigious Samuel D. Gross Prize once every five years.

Executive Council


Michael Weingarten, M.D., MBA

President Elect

Orlando Kirton, M.D.

Vice President

Nicole M. Saur, M.D.

Scientific Program Officer

Joshua Marks, M.D.


Lisa Reid, M.D.


Francesco Palazzo, M.D.

Past President

Alliric I. Willis, M.D.


Jeffrey Farma, M.D.


Kay Yoon-Flannery, D.O.


Asanthi Ratnasekera, D.O.

Executive Director

Niels Martin, M.D.

Executive Director Emeritus

John R. Clarke, M.D.

Executive Administrator

Myra Rodriguez, MBA

Past Presidents and Officers
Past Executive Directors and Administrators

Event Photos

2021 Rhoads Oration

Click here to see more photos from our March, 2020 meeting

Julie Ann Sosa and John R. Clarke after the 2021 Clarke Lecture

Click here to see more 2020 Student Paper Competition photos

2019 Clarke Lectureship photos. Click here to view all photos.

2019 Surgical Trainee Paper Competition Photos

Dr. Amy Goldberg presented the annual Rhoads Oration | December 2018

Dr. Babak Abai incoming President congratulating outgoing President Dr. Dahlia Sataloff for her service, on behalf of all Fellows of the Academy

Dr. Niels Martin, Dr. Sanjay Reddy - New Fellow to the Academy and Dr. Dahlia Sataloff at the January 2017 Meeting

Doctors Caitlin Hodge, Yizhi Shan, John Jacob, Christopher Pezzi, Rolla Zarifa, Katherine Foley, Danelle Bertozzi, and Robert Josloff during the Academy's October 2015 meeting.

Drs. Chris Tzarnas, Henry Pitt, & Jeffrey Drebin during the Academy's January 2015 meeting

Drs. Clyde Barker, Douglas Fraker (2014 Rhoads Orator), & Jeffrey Drebin during the Academy's December 2014 meeting.

Incoming President Chris Tzarnas congratulating outgoing President Jeffrey Drebin for his service, on behalf of the Fellows of the Academy

Drs. Andres Castellanos, William Erb, Robert Martindale and Jeffrey Drebin during the Academy's November 2014 meeting

Dr. Aley El-Din Tohamy, new member of the Academy with Dr. Babak Abai

Secretary Babak Abai, Speaker Clifford Ko, President Jeffrey Drebin

Incoming President Jeffrey Drebin congratulating outgoing President Thomas Bauer for his service, on behalf of the Fellows of the Academy

Dr. Andres Castellanos with January's speaker, Dr. Omar Bholat

Dr. Henry A. Pitt, new member of the Academy with Dr. John Clarke

Dr. Dawn Salvatore, new member of the Academy with Dr. Babak Abai

Dr. Qiong (John) Yang, new member of the Academy with Dr. Hitoshi Hirose